Several awards bestowed on outstanding personalities during EPE-PEMC 2012 ECCE Europe

15th Power Electronics and Motion Control Conference and Exposition

Vladimir Katic, EPE-PEMC 2012 ECCE Europe General Chair, University of Novi Sad, Serbia

During the opening of the conference on the 4th September, after a short musical program and welcome speeches, the Outstanding Young EPE Member award was handed over to Mr Jens Due and Miss Maialen Boya.



In the evening, a gala dinner was prepared in the Ball room of Hotel Park, where EPE-PEMC Council chair Prof. Istvan Nagy, EPE Association president Prof. Jean-Luc Thomas, IEEE PELS president Prof. Dushan Boroyevich and Prof. Vladimir Katic, EPE-PEMC 2012 ECCE Europe General chair handed over the EPE-PEC Council Award to Prof. Tore M. Undeland from Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway, for his outstanding contributions to the field of Power Electronics and



Electric Drives and to Prof. Grahame D. Holmes from RMIT University, Australia, for his fundamental contributions to the theoretical and practical understanding of open-loop modulation and closed-loop control of switched power converter. The winners were announced by Prof. Marian Kazmierkowski, the Chairman of the EPE-PEMC Awards Committee. All key-note speakers also received certificate of appreciation.



The formal closing session took place on the 3rd day and was the opportunity to recognize some of the best achievement. Six EPE-PEMC 2012 best papers awards have been handed over by Prof. Marian Kazmierkowski, the Chairman of the EPE-PEMC Awards Committee. The Best paper student awards were given for the papers:

- Novel Soft Switching DC/DC Converter with Controlled Output Rectifier by Jaroslav Dudrik, Marcelo Bodor, Technical University of Kosice, Slovakia
- High Frequency-link AC-AC Wireless Power Supply System in Parking Tower by Eiji Hiraki¹, Shingo Kawano¹, Toshihiko Tanaka¹, Masayauki Okamoto², ¹Yamaguchi University Ube,



Japan, ²Ube National College of Technology, Ube, Japan – Photovoltaic Power System with Integrated Electric Vehicle DC Charge and Enhanced Grid Support, by Joshua Traube, Fenglog Lu, Dragan Maksimovic, University of Colorado, United States The Best paper adult awards were wined for the papers:

The Explicit Solution of Model-Based Predictive Control by Considering the Nonlinearities in Drive Applications by Nael Al_Sheakh Ameen¹, Bahaa S. Galal¹, Ralph M. Kennel², Rahul S. Kanchan³ from ¹University of Wuppertal, Institute of electrical machines and drives, Germany, ²Technical University of Munich, Institute of electrical drives and power electronics, Germany, ³ABB Corporate Research, Sweden

Awards _____

– Increasing Sensitivity of Stator Winding Short Circuit Fault Indicator in Inverter Fed Induction Machines by Goran Stojcic¹, Jovan Stankovic¹, Gojko Joksimovic², Mario Vasak³, Nedeljko Peric³, Thomas M. Wolbank¹, from ¹Vienna University of Technology, Department of Electrical Drives and Machines, Austria, ²University of Montenegro, Faculty of Electrical

Engineering, Podgorica, Montenegro, ³University of Zagreb, Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing, Croatia – FPGA Based Control Strategy For the Reduction of Torque Ripple For PMSM by Karel Jezernik, Miran Rodic, Robert Horvat, University of Maribor, Slovenia









