Signature of the Letter of Intent between IEEE-PELS and EPE Association

IEEE PELS and EPE Association partnership moves forward - Sept. 10, 2009, Barcelona, Spain

At the closing session of the 13th European Conference on Power Electronics and Applications, organized by the European power Electronics (EPE Association) Association) in Barcelona, the Power Electronics Society (PELS) of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) and EPE Association signed a breakthrough Letter of Intent for a strong partnership in Europe. EPE Association and IEEE PELS will jointly organize and sponsor their future flagship power electronics congress in Europe, i.e. the EPE-Energy Conversion Congress and Exhibition (EPE-ECCE).

The Letter of Intent was signed on behalf of EPE Association by Prof. Jean-Luc Thomas, President EPE, Prof. Marcel Jufer, EPE Past President and Prof. Philippe Lataire, EPE Secretary. Prof. Rik De Doncker, PELS Senior Past President, Prof. Hiro Akagi, PELS Junior Past

President, and Prof. Ralph Kennel, PELS VP Meetings signed on behalf of IEEE PELS.

Four years ago, IEEE PELS embarked on a new strategy to improve both the technical and academic quality of its international conferences, while making the conference more attractive to industry participants. The aim of the ECCE initiative was to merge six international conferences in the area of power electronics in three annual congresses, one in the Americas, one in Asia and one in Europe. EPE Association was approached as being the organizer, since 1985 of the leading European conference in the field. After extended and constructive negotiation, EPE Association was convinced of the advantages of the partnership with its natural sister society within IEEE, IEEE-PELS, for its members and for the European Power Electronics and Drives community.



Picture. Signing ceremony at EPE 2009, Barcelona, Spain. Signing are Prof. Kennel (left) and Prof. Thomas (right). Standing, from l.t.r. are Prof. Lataire, Prof. Peracaula and Prof. Dede (EPE 2009 Organizers), Prof. Jufer, Prof. De Doncker and Prof. Akagi.